How to retrieve or delete sent messages in WhatsApp

With the Delete for Everyone feature in WhatsApp, you can recall or delete messages that you have already sent on WhatsApp. Let’s take a look at how to use the Delete for Everyone feature to delete sent messages in WhatsApp.

Delete sent messages in WhatsApp

It happens to most of us that sometimes we send a message on WhatsApp and immediately think whether it was right to send such a message or not.

Luckily, with the Delete for Everyone feature in WhatsApp, you can get out of this situation by allowing you to delete messages in WhatsApp even after they’ve been sent.

This feature is also useful when you want to send a message to the wrong chat, post a somewhat personal message in a group chat, or correct errors in a sent WhatsApp message.

According to WhatsApp, this feature will only work if you follow the steps to delete sent messages in WhatsApp within 7 minutes after sending. Once the sent message is successfully deleted, your original sent message will be replaced with “This message has been deleted” in recipients’ chats.

Clear Sent Messages in WhatsApp on Android Phone

Follow the steps below to retrieve or delete sent messages in WhatsApp on your Android phone

1. Open Whatsapp on your Android phone (if it is not already open)

2. Next, tap the chat tab at the top of the screen.

Chats tab in WhatsApp on Android Phone

3. Open that from the Chats screen Chat from which you want to delete sent WhatsApp messages.

4. Next, press and hold (long press) on the respective one news you want to delete, then tap Garbage can Icon that appears in the top menu on your screen (see image below).

Clear Sent Messages in WhatsApp on Android Phone

5. On the pop-up menu that appears, tap Delete for everyone possibility

Delete for everyone option in WhatsApp on Android Phone

The selected sent message will be deleted and replaced with “You deleted this message” on your screen. On the recipient’s screen, the deleted message is replaced with “This message has been deleted.”

Delete sent messages in WhatsApp on iPhone

First, make sure you have the latest version of WhatsApp on your iPhone and follow the steps below to retrieve sent messages in WhatsApp.

1. Open Whatsapp on your iPhone (if it’s not already open)

2. Next, tap the chat option at the bottom of your screen.

Chats option tab in WhatsApp

3. On the Chats screen, tap Chat you want to retrieve sent WhatsApp messages from.

Open the chat from the Chats screen in WhatsApp

4. Next, press and hold (long press) on the respective one news you want to retrieve, then tap Extinguish Option in the displayed context menu (see screenshot below).

Select WhatsApp message to delete

5. Once the message is selected, tap Garbage can Icon is located in the lower left corner of your screen (see image below).

delete message in whatsapp

6. From the slide-up menu that appears, tap Delete for everyone Possibility.

Delete for everyone option in WhatsApp

7. Finally, tap OK in the next popup to confirm that you want to delete the selected message.

Confirm the deletion of the message in WhatsApp

Once the selected message is successfully deleted for everyone, the sent message will be replaced on your screen with “You deleted this message”.

As mentioned above, this feature will only work if you take the necessary steps to retrieve sent messages in WhatsApp within 7 minutes of sending them. There is no way to delete or recall sent WhatsApp messages after the first 7 minutes have passed.

Also, this feature only works if the other person or other recipients are using the latest version of WhatsApp (2.17.71 for iOS and 2.17.393 for Android devices).

In cases where one of the recipients is using an older version of WhatsApp, they may be able to see the message before it was deleted.

Delete for me in whatsapp

In addition to Delete for Everyone, which we covered above, WhatsApp offers another option for deleting messages known as Delete for Me.

As you can guess from the name, this option only deletes messages from your chat screen and doesn’t affect recipients’ chats.

To confirm, deleting WhatsApp messages with “Delete for me” will not affect your recipients’ chats. You will continue to see your messages even after you delete them using the “Delete for me” option on your device.

Related

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.