How to protect your privacy on iPhone

Using the iPhone with the default system and app settings is not enough to protect your privacy. Therefore, below we provide the steps to protect your privacy on iPhone.

Improve privacy on iPhone

As you may have noticed, apps on iPhone usually request permission to access contacts, camera, microphone, photos and location, either during installation or while in use.

However, the problem is that many users end up unknowingly granting camera, microphone or location access to unwanted apps while trying to dismiss the permissions prompt.

Luckily, the general and privacy settings on the iPhone can be easily adjusted to better enhance and protect your privacy.

1. Prevent unwanted apps from asking you to track your activity

An easy way to eliminate the possibility of accidentally or unknowingly allowing apps to track your activity on iPhone is to block unwanted apps from tracking your activity.

Before proceeding with this step, you need to be aware that certain apps have valid reasons to track your activity on iPhone.

For example, you cannot cast YouTube videos to TV if Chromecast app installed on your device is blocked from tracking your activity on iPhone.

Go to settings > privacy > persecution > Move the switch next to All Unnecessary apps to OUT Position.

Prevent certain apps from asking for tracking on iPhone

Note: If the app is required, keep it Allow apps to request tracking to ON Position.

2. Prevent apps from tracking your location on iPhone

The location tracking feature on iPhone is used by apps like Maps, Weather, Find My iPhone, and others to provide directions, weather information, and the location of your lost or stolen iPhone.

However, there may be other unwanted apps that unnecessarily gather and share your information with others third party companies.

Go to settings > privacy > location services > select the apartment for which you want to disable location tracking.

Facebook app on iPhone location services screen

On the next screen, select the Never Option to prevent this particular app from tracking your location.

Prevent Facebook from tracking your location

Note: Choose While using the appif you believe that a particular app has a valid reason to use your location data while in use.

3. Clear your location history

iPhone accurately records places you visit and uses that information to provide location-based suggestions and alerts in Maps, Calendar, Photos, and other apps.

Corresponding AppleThis data is protected with strong end-to-end encryption and cannot be read by anyone.

You can remove this information by going to settings > privacy > location services > system services > Major Locations.

Significant Locations option on iPhone

If prompted, enter yours lock screen passcode > On the next screen, scroll down and tap delete history Option to remove your location data from iPhone.

Clear Important Locations History on iPhone

If you don’t want iPhone to collect your location data, scroll up on the same screen and slide the switch next to Major Locations to OUT Position.

Disable Important Places on iPhone

Once Significant Locations is turned off, iPhone will no longer collect information about places you visit.

4. Prevent websites from tracking your location

You can prevent websites from tracking your location in Safari browser by going to settings > safari > location and selecting the Deny or Questions Possibility.

Prevent website from tracking location in Safari browser

If you select the “Ask” option, the Safari browser will prompt you for permission whenever a website wants to track your location.

5. Clear Safari history and website data regularly

A good way to protect your privacy on iPhone is to make it a habit to clear Safari history and website data on your iPhone regularly.

Go to settings > safari > scroll down and tap Clear history and website data Shortcut.

Clear history and website data in Safari browser on iPhone

Tap on the confirmation pop-up Clear history and data confirm.

This action will erase all your browsing history, cookies, and other website data from your device.

6. Disable access to the notification center from the lock screen

While accessing notifications from the lock screen is convenient, it also allows others to view notifications on your device without having to enter the lock screen passcode.

Go to settings > Touch ID & Passcode > If prompted, enter the lock screen passcode for your device.

Touch ID and Passcode setting option on iPhone

On the next screen, scroll down to Allow access when locked section and move the toggle next to it notification center and show today to OUT Position.

Disable Notification Center and Today View on iPhone Lock Screen

Once access to Notification Center and Today View is removed, no one can view or access notifications on your iPhone without knowing the lock screen passcode.

7. Backup iPhone camera

While apps like FaceTime, Skype or Google Meet have a valid reason to seek access to the camera on iPhone, you may have unknowingly granted camera access to other unwanted apps.

Go to settings > privacy > camera > Move the switch next to unwanted applications to OUT Position.

Disable camera access to apps on iPhone

This ensures that only the necessary or required apps have access to the camera on your iPhone.

8. Secure microphone

Similarly, you may be surprised at what kind of apps you may have unknowingly given permission to eavesdrop on your conversations on iPhone.

Go to settings > privacy > microphone > disable unwanted applications by moving the switch to OUT Position.

Disable microphone access to apps on iPhone

Note: If you require turn-by-turn audio directions, you must allow Google Maps access to the microphone.

9. Turn off Live Photos

Corresponding AppleLive Photos feature on iPhone actually records what happens 1.5 seconds before and 1.5 seconds after the picture is taken.

The danger with this feature is that you may share your private, personal or trash-talking video/audio recording when you share photos with others.

open that camera on your iPhone > select Live photo icon and tap the OUT Possibility.

Turn off Live Photos on iPhone

Once Live Photos is disabled on your iPhone, the Live Photos icon will appear with a punch mark.

Live Photos disabled on iPhone

10. Disable message preview on lock screen

Go to settings > notifications > Messages > Scroll down to the Message Options section and toggle OFF show Preview by moving the switch to OUT Position.

Disable Message Preview on Lock Screen on iPhone

This setting ensures that you still get notifications from the Messages app on your iPhone’s lock screen, but the notification doesn’t include any message content.

Likewise, you can disable content in notifications from other popular apps like WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger, Twitter, and others.

11. Protect Voicemail Messages

According to security researchers Martin Vigo Most voicemail systems can be cracked using voicemail cracking tools and other brute force methods that can guess the 4 digit voicemail passcode.

So make sure you set up a strong password for your voicemail account on iPhone by going to settings > phone > Change Voicemail Password.

On the next screen, enter a strong password to make it difficult for anyone to access your voicemail through guessing or brute force attacks.

12. Check apps that have access to your photos

Check if unknown or unwanted apps are accessing your photos by going to settings > privacy > photos.

Privacy setting option for photos on iPhone

On the next screen you will see the list of applications Request access to photos on your iPhone.

13. Prevent unwanted apps from accessing contacts

Go to settings > privacy > contacts > Move the switch next to Unwanted apps to OUT Position.

Disable Facebook Messenger from accessing contacts on iPhone

With these steps, you have blocked Facebook Messenger from accessing your contacts on iPhone.

Related

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.