How to factory reset iPhone or iPad

You may need to factory reset iPhone or iPad if your device is having problems, it has been locked/disabled and also if you are selling or giving it away.

Factory reset iPhone or iPad

Factory resetting iPhone will erase all its data (including apps) permanently and you will find that your device returns to its original factory settings state.

Once the factory reset process is complete, your device will restart and prompt you to complete the setup process (just like you would with a new device).

If you follow the onscreen instructions, you’ll be given the option to restore iPhone from an iCloud or iTunes backup, or set it up as a new iPhone.

Let’s continue with this understanding and have a look at 3 different iPhone factory reset methods.

1. Factory reset iPhone using Settings

If you can sign in, you can use the Settings app to factory reset the iPhone. If you are unable to login, try one of the next 2 other methods as given below.

Go to settings > General > Transfer or reset iPhone > select Erase all content and settings Possibility.

Erase All Content and Settings option on iPhone

On the next screen, tap Continue > Enter lock screen passcode > Select in the confirmation popup Delete Iphone Option to start the factory reset process.

Once the reset process is complete, you will see the iPhone starting with the “Hello” screen prompting you to start the setup process (Slide to set up).

Set up iPhone hello screen

Follow the screen Setup Instructionsuntil you reach the Apps & Data screen.

iPhone Apps & Data Screen

On this screen you can choose Set as new iPhone or Restore iPhone from iCloud backup Option depending on the issue you want to fix on your device.

2. Factory reset iPhone with iCloud

This method only works if Apple’s Setup Find iPhone service is enabled on your device. If it is not set up, you can use the other two methods as given below.

Visit with Mac/PC or any mobile device iCloud.com and log in to your iCloud account. Once in iCloud, click Find iPhone Symbol.

Sign in to Find My iPhone in iCloud

If prompted, enter yours Apple ID password Sign up for the Find My iPhone service. On the next screen, click All devices and choose yours iPhone in the drop-down list.

All Devices tab on Find My iPhone.

Select on the next screen Delete Iphone Option to erase all data from your device.

Delete iPhone option on iCloud

If prompted, enter yours Apple ID password and wait for the factory reset process to complete.

Once the factory reset process is complete, your iPhone will reboot to the “Hello” screen and you will be prompted to do so Slide to Setup your device.

Set up iPhone hello screen

Follow the setup prompts until you reach apps & data Screen that gives you different options to restore iPhone. Device.

Restore from iCloud backup option on Apps and Data screen

You can choose Restore from iCloud backup or Set as new iPhone Option depending on the issue you want to fix on your device.

3. Factory reset iPhone in recovery mode

This method requires you to connect iPhone to Mac or Windows PC and can be used even if iPhone has been locked or disabled.

Connect iPhone to computer > open the finder and follow the steps applicable to the iPhone model.

Note: If you are using an earlier version of macOS or Windows PC, open iTunes (If not already open).

iPhone 8 and later: Press and release volume up key > Press and release volume down key > Next, hold down side button (Power button) until you see the Recovery mode screen.

iPhone recovery mode screen

iPhone 7/7Plus: Hold down the side and volume down buttons at the same time. Keep holding them until you see the recovery mode screen.

iPhone 6 or older: press and hold home and side (Power) buttons simultaneously. Hold them down until you see the recovery mode screen (iTunes logo and cable)

Note: Don’t release them button As you can see, the iPhone starts with the Apple logo. Keep holding the button until you see the recovery mode screen.

When your iPhone goes into recovery mode, a pop-up window will appear asking you to either update or Restore your device.

iPhone recovery mode options

If you choose the To update option, your computer attempts to install the latest version of the software on your device without erasing any data.

If you choose the Restore option, your computer will completely erase the data on your device and install the latest version of the software on your device.

Either way, wait patiently for your computer to download the software onto your device. If the download takes more than 15 minutes and your device exits recovery mode, wait for the download to finish and repeat step 3.

After the update/restore process is complete, the iPhone will start on the “Hello” screen.

Set up iPhone hello screen

Follow the setup instructions until you get to the Apps & Data screen, which gives you various recovery options.

Set up as a new iPhone option on the Apps and Data screen.

you can choose Restore from iCloud backup or Set as new iPhonedepending on the problem you want to fix on your device.

When to use DFU mode?

The factory reset process will erase all data from your device without affecting the firmware or the iOS operating system installed on your device.

While the Factory Reset process can be used to fix multiple issues on iPhone, it cannot be used if your device has become unresponsive, stuck at a black screen, or has other major issues.

The solution in such cases is iPhone DFU restore, which will erase practically everything from your device including the operating system and also the firmware.

Related

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.