Formula E debut in Indonesia: Mitch Evans signs his third win of the season

Formula E debut in Indonesia: Mitch Evans signs his third win of the season

Saturday, June 4, 2022 by Julie Bouchard

New Zealand driver Mitch Evans (Jaguar TCS Racing) won the 9th round of the 2022 season of the Formula E World Championship on Saturday. It was the start of the series in Jakarta, Indonesia.

The event was dominated by Jean-Éric Vergne (DS Techeetah) for a long time, but 5 minutes from the end, Evans was able to take the upper hand over the Frenchman to his 3rd victory of the season, thus relaunching his chances in the title race. Edoardo Mortara (Venturi Racing) completed the podium.

Vergne had sprung from pole position. In the final laps, as the race finally came to life, Evans returned in the wake of Vergne, diving inside turn 7 on the 31st lap, to take the lead. From there, energy management became the main concern of the top trio, in this race held in extreme heat on the international circuit of the Jakarta E-Prix, set in the seaside resort of Ancol Beach. At the finish line, the top three finished grouped less than a second apart.

DS Techeetah’s Vergne teammate António Félix da Costa moved from second to fourth place at the checkered flag, while championship leader Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-EQ) made three crucial overtakes during the race. to finish fifth and thus retain the top spot in the drivers’ championship standings.

With Vandoorne’s closest rivals in the championship all finishing on the podium, the drivers’ standings have tightened: now only 12 points separate the top four, with Vergne five points behind the Belgian (121 to 116), Mortara (114 ) to two of the Frenchman in third and Evans (109) five other points back.

According to organizers, a total of more than 60,000 fans attended the first Jakarta E-Awards and the Ancol Festival, making it the biggest Formula E event to date. It should also be noted that before the race, Formula E and FIA leaders joined the drivers for a moment of silence in memory of José Abed, honorary vice-president of the FIA ​​and president of the Organization. Mexican International Motorsport International, who died last Thursday at the age of 82. José Abed was also working on several cases concerning the North American series (NACAM sanctioned) of motorsport.

Jake Dennis (Andretti Autosport), Lucas di Grassi (Venturi Racing), Pascal Wehrlein (Porsche), Sam Bird (Jaguar TCS Racing) and Sébastien Buemi (Nissan e.dams) completed the Top 10. For the full ranking of this event , click here.

In the team championship, Mercedes-EQ is still at the top of the standings with 186 points, 16 ahead of DS Techeetah who has now overtaken Venturi Racing. The next stage of the series is the E-Prix in Marrakech, Morocco, on Saturday 2 July. This race replaces the canceled Vancouver E-Prix.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.